History of ADM Import & Export Limited
The Company started from humble beginnings in 1934 by Mr. Ramlal Maharaj and Mrs. Basso Tota-Maharaj. Mrs. Tota-Maharaj came from a family with a background in transportation and trading. This, combined with Mr. Maharaj’s experience in agriculture, became the driving force for the young couple’s business, which was known as the ‘School Boy Parlour’. The gift of a plot of land from Mrs. Phoole Tota-Maharaj to her daughter Basso was the ideal location for the parlour. It was located opposite the Arima Boys Government School, at the Corner of King and Lopez Streets, Arima.
The School Boy Parlour was driven with passion and ‘word of mouth’ marketing and grew from a parlour whose main customers were teachers and children to a ‘One Stop Shop’ to house grocery, vegetables, restaurant, bakery and variety store items. The shop also played a pivotal role by providing soldiers with food and other basic commodities during World War II.
The businesses are now a staple not only in Arima and environs but throughout Trinidad and Tobago and are a major player in the Distribution, Wholesale and Retail segments of the Fast Moving Consumer Goods Value Chain.